how to merge subsonic to madsonic

Need help? Post your questions here.
beninho
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

how to merge subsonic to madsonic

Unread post by beninho »

Hi all,

I've been using subsonic for a few years. Now I want te merge subsonic to a new madsonic install.

My platform is ubuntu 12.04.4 32 bit with subsonic 4.9
The new install is unbutu 12.04.4 64 bit --> with a fresh installation of madsonic.

The thing I cannot find out is, how can I migrate without the need to create new accounts for the existings users?

thanks for the support!
beninho

Re: how to merge subsonic to madsonic

Unread post by beninho »

I know I can backup my subsonic database, but is still enough? I thing that I could break the install because of the differnces between subsonic and madsonic..

Can anyone confirm?
Madsonic
Administrator
Administrator
Answers: 7

Unread post by Madsonic »

hi there,

i dont try this with the final subsonic 4.9 version but it should work
  • 01. stop madsonic service
    02. backup! (zip or copy) your old subsonic/madsonic installation (in your case c:\subsonic) !!!
    03. move your backup to a save place
    04. uninstall all Madsonic installation
    05. delete all old traces -> (c:\subsonic, c:\madsonic, c:\supersonic and \var\subsonic, \var\madsonic, \var\supersonic)
    06. make a new madsonic installation
    07. after installation the service will automatically start (new DB will created)
    08. stop madsonic service
    09. delete DB folder again (in your case c:\madsonic\db or \var\madsonic\db)
    10. delete settings file (madsonic.properties)
    11. copy your backup (DB folder and subsonic.properties only!) into your madsonic installation folder (c:\madsonic\)
    12. rename subsonic.properties to madsonic.properties
    13. restart Madsonic service
    14. Madsonic detect automatically the db version and will upgrade to newest Madsonic db structure layout