How to use Madsonic with JDK running Win7

Need help? Post your questions here.
b111
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2014, 16:15
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

How to use Madsonic with JDK running Win7

Unread post by b111 »

Hi guys
Wanting to play with some source code modifications, i figured out that Madsonic (and Subsonic as well) comes precompiled and in order to be able make some local modifications i have to use JDK version of Java, not only JRE. So i completely uninstalled Madsonic, Java JRE that came with it, rebooted (my OS is Win7 64bit) and installed latest Java 7 JDK (jdk-7u51-windows-i586.exe). 32bit because i'm going to use 32bit browser with Madsonic. Everything installed OK, so now i've got:
- usual JRE located in c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\
- devkit JDK located in c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.7.0_51\
To test that all things are ok, i commented out main.jsp in web.xml file according to this manual: http://forum.subsonic.org/forum/viewtop ... 11&t=10783 and i get the following error:

Code: Select all

Exception 	org.apache.jasper.JasperException
Message 	PWC6345: There is an error in invoking javac. A full JDK (not just JRE) is required
Java version 	Oracle Corporation 1.7.0_51
Operating system 	Windows 7 6.1
Server 	jetty/8.y.z-SNAPSHOT
Memory 	Used 152 of 247 MB
Adding JAVA_HOME to systems environment and Java to path didn't managed to help.

Any suggestions would be very appreciated
User avatar
Madsonic
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 984
Joined: 07 Dec 2012, 03:58
Answers: 7
Has thanked: 1201 times
Been thanked: 470 times

Re: How to use Madsonic with JDK running Win7

Unread post by Madsonic »

Hi there,

Did you use the Windows-Installer package or the standalone version?

the windows-installer package comes with this compiled settings

https://github.com/MadMarty/madsonic-se ... 4j#L30-L31

JDK_HOME then JAVA_HOME then PATH specified

for the standalone version look at

https://github.com/MadMarty/madsonic-se ... #L113-L142 , and
https://github.com/MadMarty/madsonic-se ... ic.bat#L41

best regards
b111
Posts: 6
Joined: 20 Feb 2014, 16:15
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to use Madsonic with JDK running Win7

Unread post by b111 »

Hi, Madevil
Did you use the Windows-Installer package or the standalone version?
I'm not sure what is correct answer to your question, because i installed 20140101_madsonic-5.0.3830-setup-x86.zip and then unpacked 20140110_madsonic-5.0.3840-standalone.zip to Madsonic folder in order to have the latest version.
Now i believe i've got all things set in my env settings:

Code: Select all

JAVA_HOME=c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.7.0_51
JDK_HOME=c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.7.0_51
Path=C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;c:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jdk1.7.0_51\bin\
Unfortunately, i still get the same error.

Thank you for your help
Post Reply