Help on a new install

Need help? Post your questions here.
MuadDib_II

Help on a new install

Unread post by MuadDib_II »

Hi all,

I'm used to Hakko's Music Cabinet, but after the implementation of the Pandora's feature (that seems to replace Hakko's Artist Radio feature) I would like to try Madsonic. For that I have two options:

I can install Madsonic in my main machine, that is running Windows 8.1 and already has Music Cabinet. If I choose this install, can I make it without uninstall Music Cabinet (at least for a while, to see if Madsonic feeds my needs)?

I can also install Madsonic on a notebook that is running Debian 7.2. For that I found this topic, witch explains how to do it, but it seems that I need Madsonic version 3320 (the last one with a .deb compile) and then change the .war file. My problem there is that in the Archives topic I can only find Madsonic 3350 (with a .tar.gz). As I'm new to Linux, I would like to ask if I can install this version in my notebook, and if yes if the .war update will still work.

Thanks in advance for your help,
Marc
These users thanked the author MuadDib_II for the post:
Madsonic
Rating: 7.69%
gurutech
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Help on a new install

Unread post by gurutech »

I'm not familiar with Debian Linux (I use Fedora and Centos, both based on Red Hat), but once you have a working version installed, the WAR update is fairly simple - just stop the madsonic service, copy the .WAR file to /usr/share/madsonic, and restart the madsonic service.
MuadDib_II

Thanks for your answer gurutech.

This night I will try to install it and then see what will happens.
MuadDib_II

I finally found a .deb file (Madsonic Server 5.0 Beta5 Build 3600). I also downloaded the 20131031_madsonic-5.0.3780-standalone.zip to extract the .war file, Is it correct ?