Madsonic Development in Eclipse [Help]

Madsonic Development Section
chupalo
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Madsonic Development in Eclipse [Help]

Unread post by chupalo »

Howdy,

I'm a Java developer but haven't had much exposure to Maven or Spring professionally. I've just abandoned Subsonic due to ongoing fees and using Madsonic. I would love to get Madsonic configured and compiled in Eclipse but am having a hard time. Are there any resources available that can help me get started?

I have started with some of the tools listed here:
http://forum.madsonic.org/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=723

Eclipse Mars
JDK 1.8_51
Spring Tool Suite 3.7
Madsonic 5.1 5260 code base

I tried creating:
- a Java project and converting it to a Maven project
- a Maven project
- a Spring project > Simple Spring Maven

I think I get closest using the Spring project but the main hangup for me right now is that the Maven Dependencies folder in Eclipse is completely empty. I see no error related to Maven dependencies and when I check the child pom.xml files the dependencies seem to resolve correctly, but for some reason that eludes me the project in Eclipse won't contain any of the jars and therefore not compile due to missing libraries.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to sort this out I would greatly appreciate it.

- CL
Madsonic
Administrator
Administrator
Answers: 7

Re: Madsonic Development in Eclipse [Help]

Unread post by Madsonic »

Hi there,

Madsonic will be developed on the three major platforms (Windows, Linux, OSX) therefore the software development environment is much the same.

Madsonic use the maven life-cycle for building https://maven.apache.org/guides/introdu ... cycle.html

Check your requirements for each OS environment

* Apache Maven (https://maven.apache.org/)
* JAVA JDK (http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/ ... index.html)
* Use Eclipse or Spring IDE (https://eclipse.org or https://spring.io/tools)

Code: Select all

console: javac -version