Possible to browse by folder?

Need help? Post your questions here.

Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby drewbagel423 » 03 Nov 2016, 22:21

Hello,

Most of my music is not tagged with album information because my library consists mainly of singles. I have my music organized in various folders. Is it possible from within Madsonic to simply browse through my folders?
drewbagel423
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 22:17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby frank2228 » 22 Nov 2016, 21:21

folderbrowse.JPG
frank2228
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 23 Jul 2014, 00:59
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby drewbagel423 » 23 Nov 2016, 03:29

For some reason my settings screen doesn't have that option. This is on version 6.2.8840.8c8c47a.20161103.0926.
drewbagel423
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 22:17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby Madevil » 28 Nov 2016, 15:12

Hi there,

This feature is at the moment not available and the configuration option is removed until its complete integrated.
It's planned to bring this feature into Madsonic in an upcoming version.

Best regards
User avatar
Madevil
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 913
Joined: 07 Dec 2012, 03:58
Has thanked: 1331 times
Been thanked: 952 times

Re: Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby madsub » 28 Nov 2016, 17:49

Madevil wrote:This feature is at the moment not available and the configuration option is removed until its complete integrated.
It's planned to bring this feature into Madsonic in an upcoming version.

It never worked for me without problems, because madsonic often did not care about my real folder-names, took the album-tag instead of the folder tag or did not show my album-folder "(1969) Abbey Road" and showed only "Abbey Road" instead.

If you bring it back into at full function it would be very nice to have the possibility to make it possible to configure for each music-folder.
I think there are a lot of people who are constantly tagging their music but it is a never ending job and perhaps there are more people like me who have different folder-structures for already tagged music and music-to-tag.
Last edited by madsub on 28 Nov 2016, 17:56, edited 1 time in total.
madsub
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 10:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby drewbagel423 » 28 Nov 2016, 17:53

madsub wrote:
Madevil wrote:This feature is at the moment not available and the configuration option is removed until its complete integrated.
It's planned to bring this feature into Madsonic in an upcoming version.

It never worked for me without problems, because madsonic often did not care about my real folder-names.

If you bring it back into at full function it would be very nice to have the possibility to make it possible to configure for each music-folder.
I think there are a lot of people who are constantly tagging their music but it is a never ending job and perhaps there are more people like me who have different folder-structures for already tagged music and music-to-tag.


Yeah my library consists of a lot of single songs that don't have albums associated with them, which makes it difficult to navigate through them using Madsonic.
drewbagel423
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03 Nov 2016, 22:17
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Possible to browse by folder?

Unread postby TehErk » 12 May 2017, 20:52

I would like to "bump" this as well. A simple show by folder structure would do wonders for me as I already have everything sorted in my folder structure, but don't have everything tagged quite properly.

In fact, a database-less option to just show the folder structure would be amazing and would potentially cut down on the system requirements for the software. A Madsonic "lite" if you would. I really dislike media programs that have to scan occasionally because I have a relatively large collection and every time it scans, it takes a long time of heavy hard drive use. That's not particularly good on the hardware.

Stream to Me for the iPhone was designed this way, but alas, they don't have an Android version.
TehErk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 May 2017, 05:02
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Support 6.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest